RSS

“One Small Step…….”

02 Mar

When I started writing this blog post, well over two weeks ago, the title was, ‘Move Over, Victor – I Don’t Believe It!’ But, I did not feel comfortable with that title, I’m not a natural whinger and the world is filled with folks who have far more to whinge about than I do.

Yes, I was upset because my third puter in 5 years had suddenly died on me. I lost all my emails and my email contacts list, and I knew I had unopened emails to answer. Within the past 24 hours, my techie-brilliant son has been able to access and retrieve my emails and contacts list, I will be replying to those previously unopened emails later today. Thank you, Paul, you really are a wizard of the cyber-world.

Hopefully, that’s alright, then. This ancient puter that has been loaned to me will do the jobbit that I require of it – and, I’ll happily put up with the fact that it ‘moves’ too slowly to catch a virus and the keyboard sounds like a big bass drum as I type! Chuckle!

Not only did Netbook 3 bite the dust, but I was quietly waiting for the final results of a multitude of tests that would tell me, once and for all, why I have been feeling like death warmed up for months, since the end of last summer. But, on reflection, I would not have been the only little old lady in that position, I bet there were thousands, if not millions, of us in the same boat. Self-pity is not attractive, it’s boring and totally non-productive. So, I told myself, ‘get your act together, Hobo Chrissie, man up’. And, I did, I manned up!

Anyway, results of the various medical tests offered me a bit of a double whammy, the first part being a benign skin cancer on my right shin (Histiocytosis). Operative word – benign. That will teach me to appreciate that I am not immortal, wearing shorts virtually all the year round means I must also ‘cream up’ virtually all the year round! But, here’s the surprise factor – it seems that the benign skin tumour may have evolved from an ant bite!

I had noticed in November last year that a cluster of ant bites weren’t healing, the pesky insects had made a meal of my right leg way back in August. I am very sensitive to bites and stings, no matter what insect takes a fancy to my flesh and blood! However, after travelling to the (beautiful) Puy de Dome, I’d had an arthritis ‘flare’ and that took my mind off the still persistently itching ant bites. Trying to find some relief from the arthritis pain, I visited a very helpful pharmacist to check out some natural remedies that were recommended by super friends. The pharmacist pointed out to me that one of the ant bites seemed to be ulcerating and she advised me, strongly, to visit a doctor. I followed her advice, but not until after Christmas. You see, being a hobo for so long definitely gave me a false sense of security. Hobo Chrissie, you are NOT immortal, take that on board!

Suffice to say, eventually, the doctor here in the Haute-Vienne packed me off for a thousand and one tests (ok, a thousand and one is a bit of an over the top description!) and I was hit straight between the eyes by the double whammy! The benign skin tumour became the least of my worries, the second part of the whammy was looking like it could well be leukaemia. Can you see where Victor Meldrew’s catch-phrase comes into this? Sheesh!

But, it isn’t leukaemia, not at this stage. My various pills and potions, the ones that have grown on me over the years, have now been joined by truly enormous once-daily ‘bombs’ that are sulphur coloured and contain just about all vitamins and minerals known to womankind (it doesn’t have to be mankind!). Regular monitoring should ensure that deterioration does not arrive by stealth!

That’s alright, then. Sorted! What the heck did I have to whinge about? Nothing. Relax, Victor, I’m leaving your catch-phrase alone, on this occasion. Wink!

Back to the tale in hand.

Just before Netbook 3 expired, I wrote to the Law Society, Toulouse Board, to let them know we were still waiting for our file, including our Property Deeds, to arrive from our third and last avocat, Maitre AB. Despite having been assured by the Law Society, last November, that Maitre AB would be sending our file to us, sans plus tarder, aka without delay, she had not done so. I told the Board in my letter that it was no surprise to us, but, it was frustrating because we need our Property Deeds to be in hand before we begin the serious business of selling ‘the pile’.

During the past few days, we have received the following:

1. From the Law Society, Toulouse Board, copy of a (clearly) irritable missive addressed to Maitre AB, demanding (yes, demanding!) that she send our file to us without further delay. Love it!

2. From the Law Society, Toulouse Board, copy of another missive addressed to Maitre AB, informing her that the Board is ready to convene to determine if we were failed by our legal representatives during our vice cache proceedings.

3. On Friday 28 February 2014 – we received a very large package from Maitre AB. It required two signatures on two separate documents before Madame Post-lady could possibly hand the package to us. Bless her, Madame Post-lady is a lovely lass, always smiling, always cheerful, with the most expressive eyebrows I have seen in my life! She was “positive” that the package contained “good news, Monsieur et Madame”, her eyebrows were in total agreement with her words – they were above her hairline (eat your heart out, Mister Spock!), and she sported a wall-to-wall grin that actually brought the sun out from behind swiftly dissipating storm clouds!

Madame Post-lady’s eyebrows, grin and assurance were not wrong. The package contained a very polite, extremely civil, letter from Maitre AB, accompanied by our entire vice cache file including our Property Deeds!

YES! “One small step……….”, and a battle won!Β 

Next time? “Four Become Seven – Back To The Auvergne”. Honestly! Β 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2014 in World

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to ““One Small Step…….”

  1. Christine Ross

    March 2, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    Jeez Chrissie, all I can say is Congratulations on getting the Title Deeds, & thank goodness for all the rest, but sheesh woman!! you don’t like to live quietly, do you…..massive hugs to you & all your family…

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 2, 2014 at 5:47 pm

      πŸ˜€ Hi Christine, Bless you and thank you, it’s lovely to e-see you. You’re quite right, family and I do seem to attract all the horror scenarios available, lol! Yet, we also survive those awful scenarios – somebody or something must be watching over us! The roller-coaster regarding our ‘missing’ Property Deeds has been one of the very worst experiences during this entire saga, it’s such a great relief to have those all-important documents back in our possession. πŸ™‚ Chrissie and menfolk xx

       
  2. Tracey Vincent

    March 2, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    Oh Chrissie, I’m so glad that you’ve finally got your property deeds. That must be such a relief for you xxxxx

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 2, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      πŸ™‚ Hi Tracey. Now you know why I have been shirking my HIFF duties – again! Lol! Yes, so relieved, we would not have known where to start if those Deeds had not been found by Maitre AB in her archives! Ok, I would have found a way forward, but, once again, as has been the case so often during the past 6 years, I would have been ‘flying blind’ to start! Tracey, I have another blog post ready for editing and publishing later this evening – am making sure HIFF is my priority whilst you’re with your family in the UK. Enjoy and please give the bambino lots of gentle hugs and kisses from me and menfolk. Love from us all xxxx

       
  3. Pip

    March 2, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Polite and civil but I bet no apology!!!!

    Slowly, slowly catchy monkey.

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 2, 2014 at 6:17 pm

      πŸ˜€ Spot on, Pip, no apology! Although, we couldn’t really expect one, Maitre MA’s neck is firmly on the chopping board, but, I doubt that Maitre AB endeared herself to the Law Society by ignoring their command in November – so, she’s very probably going to get her wrists slapped for that little error of judgement and I was, after all, the dobber! Lol! Yes, indeed – “slowly, slowly……..”! Love from us lot to you and yours xxxx

       
  4. Perpetua

    March 2, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    So glad you’ve finally got your deeds and file, Chrissie. πŸ™‚ If Maitre AB gets her wrists slapped, she only has herself to blame. Also glad to hear that you’ve had some answers re your health problems and that the news is better than you’d feared. Keep taking those vitamin tablets.

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 8, 2014 at 1:18 am

      Bless you. πŸ™‚ The ‘bombs’ seem to be working, although, I’m sure I rattle when I walk, lol! Yes, I have a feeling that Maitre AB has well and truly blotted her copybook with the person who is, after all, her direct senior! Good, the experience might just make her a better avocat for her future clients. C & menfolk xx

       
  5. Chris

    March 2, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Yay! At last! Congratulations on finally getting the deeds returned to you. πŸ™‚

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 8, 2014 at 1:26 am

      πŸ˜€ Thank you, Chris, it is a huge relief. Also, now that I have got to the end of all the blood-letting, poking and prodding, thee and me, with our spouses, might just be able to meet up for that coffee and catch-up chat in the not too distant future! Are you up to travelling to the CafΓ© Chaud before we lose this wonderful Spring sunshine, Chris? C & menfolk xx

       
  6. Osyth

    March 3, 2014 at 9:36 am

    Hey! Yay! Tumour = benign Yay! Leukaemia not getting you (I fought that one a while ago and won πŸ™‚ ) Yay! Forward motion on house. I love a yay yay yay and I love your blog …. keep fighting and keep winning xx

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 8, 2014 at 1:31 am

      Hahahaha! You’re a tonic, Osyth – and I love your blog, too! Who could not love your blog, you post such wonderful pics and write about the most gorgeous region in France! Well done, you, for beating the swine that tried to get me, chapeau. xxxx

       
  7. judith lea

    March 3, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Superb result Chrissie, that will cut down on some of the stress for you. Medical wise, raise a glass to Him upstairs, all in all a very positive time for you.

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 8, 2014 at 1:37 am

      πŸ™‚ Thank you very much, Judith. Yes, lots of relief has been felt by my menfolk et moi during the past few days. In fact, I keep taking the Deeds out of the package to look at them – I’m just making sure they’re still in there and we have them safely in our possession! C & menfolk xxxx

       
  8. merewoman

    March 4, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    What a BIG step forward, Chrissie. So pleased for you all. As for your health, take care and keep taking the tablets. πŸ™‚

     
    • hobosinfrance

      March 8, 2014 at 1:40 am

      πŸ™‚ Thank you very much, Susie. Yes, lol, I will keep rattling! πŸ˜€ C & menfolk xxxx

       

Leave a Reply

 
